Adventures of An Aspiring Librarian

Health Sciences Library Field Experience—-Week 4

on February 14, 2014

This week, I took Fran’s feedback and worked on some more phlebotomy research for the majority of the day. I had to track down some full text articles, and also learned that the British spell venipuncture (another word for phlebotomy) as venepuncture. That little spelling difference helped me narrow down my research in PubMed and Web of Science, as well as a few other databases I’m slowly learning my way around.

This can make a world of difference in terms of medical terminology

This can make a world of difference in terms of medical terminology

I also worked a bit on a jeopardy quiz that Fran requested I create. We wanted a way for those being trained to draw blood to be able to remember all the details of their training session in a fun way. So, someone suggested creating a jeopardy quiz! I shopped around on several sites looking for a good, fair-use site that would let me customize a quiz for our purposes.

I managed to find a great quiz builder on the University of Michigan’s website. They have a whole selection of education materials brought to you by the US Department of Education. They are made available to those wanting to use them for educational purposes. I created an account, signed into Quiz Break (found here: http://clear.msu.edu/quizbreak/) and started building the phlebotomy jeopardy quiz slides based on our training powerpoint. It was a lot of fun!

Not the same board I created, but the same concept

Not the same board I created, but the same concept

Leave a Reply

