Adventures of An Aspiring Librarian

Health Sciences Library Field Experience—-Week 2

on February 10, 2014

While my first week was a lot of introductions and orientations, during my second week at the UNC Health Sciences Library, I hit the ground running.

My second week started off with a bang. I had a bit of a miscommunication in the morning when I went to see Fran. She said that we were going to a meeting where we would learn more about “phlebotomy training”. Phlebotomy is the act of drawing blood, often used in the context of IVs, foot sticks, finger pricks, etc. However, I misheard her and somehow heard “lobotomy”, which is a horrific type of brain surgery. It was a confusing but ultimately really funny moment. It showed me that I have a LOT to learn in the medical field, especially in terms of medical vocabulary.

Supplies needed for a phlebotomy

Supplies needed for a phlebotomy

At any rate, we went to the meeting and discussed phlebotomy training options for research studies. Apparently, in North Carolina, and in many states, it is not required by law that people/researchers conducting studies with blood draws require training before performing said blood draws on people. Since the university would like to make the research studies as painless as possible (pun not intended), some people thought that it would be a good idea to provide training for anyone intending to perform a phlebotomy on a research volunteer for a study.Those participating in the training would not become licensed phlebotomists, but they would at least know how to properly draw blood while minimizing both pain and errors.

The library and librarians can play a role in this by helping provide research, gathering data on successful phlebotomy training programs, and by helping put together the training materials if necessary. I thought it was a great meeting, and I really enjoyed seeing how the library can help make a positive impact in helping people learn a new skill set.

After this meeting, Fran and I went to a quick user services meeting, where I had the opportunity to observe the operations of the user services branch. The librarians all welcomed me, and I was able to see the management side of things, from scheduling snow day openings to considering the best ways to improve services at the reference desk. We also discussed 3D printers, and I was tasked with researching information on the successful implementation of 3D printers in other Health Science libraries around the US. It was very informative.

As luck would have it, after discussing snow day openings in the user services meeting only two days prior, we had a snow day on January 29th! The roads were slick and Fran recommended that I work from home. So I did! I conducted some research on PubMed and GoogleScholar on 3D printers.

A 3D printer making a pizza?

A 3D printer making a pizza?

 

Leave a Reply

