Adventures of An Aspiring Librarian

Back to the land of the pines

on January 27, 2014

I returned from Denmark in December 2013, and have since resumed my library studies at UNC Chapel Hill this January. Although I do miss Denmark and Europe (and the friends I made there), I am excited to have a “fresh start” so to speak. Now that I know the Chapel Hill area better (and have a good solid group of friends) I felt less apprehensive about coming back to NC.

My classes this semester are also really interesting. I’m taking several required courses about human information interaction, reference and research, and research methods. But I also am lucky to be taking a Special Libraries and Knowledge Management class, which is right up my alley! I have always been interested in special libraries and how their operations and functions may differ from traditional librarianship. Special libraries can include health/hospital libraries, law libraries, federal libraries, corporate libraries….they basically can be any information environment that falls outside of the scope of traditional public or academic libraries. Our professor is a former Special Libraries Association president who has worked in several corporate environments, so I’m excited to see what I can learn from her expertise.

I also am excited to say that I have taken on a field experience/internship in the Health Sciences Library on campus at UNC. Here, I can learn the inner workings of a major hospital library, and what services they offer their patrons. I’ve had a whirlwind of an introduction to it, which I will log here on this blog. It’s been a really interesting orientation so far, and I love being able to see how library services can morphed and utilized in such different ways in the health field. hsl

Leave a Reply

